The story so far

Being that I have never been a world traveler, I have no idea how to write about world travels. But, being that today was my first day traveling the world, I will try.

Flying across the Atlantic Ocean is a very strange thing, mainly due to the fact that I saw very little of the Atlantic Ocean. This is partly because my plane left JFK International Airport at 10:45 p.m. and nothing can be seen at that time of night, but also because it was partly (mostly) cloudy—at least what the sun came around.

It was almost like I hadn’t traveled at all. This machine with wings lifts you up in the dark, then you see clouds, which are essentially made from the ocean, then you go back down through the clouds and land in another place.

Today, that other place was Paris. On the cab ride to FIAP Jean Monnet, I was whisked under the Arc de Triomphe, past the Louvre and caught a glimpse of the Eiffel Tower.

Naturally, I wanted to go up close to all of those things, but even more natural was the enormous wall of fatigue that was weighing down my eyelids. I met up with the other students who are in my program and after moving our luggage into the rooms at the FIAP we decided to have one huge American group walk.

We have no idea where we went, but the walk lasted almost two hours. We did find a boulangerie and we all got to taste the makings of a real French bakery. I bought myself a “pain au chocolat,” which is basically a type of croissant with chocolate on the inside of it.

After our walk we headed back to the rooms, showered and fought off more fatigue once realizing that we needed to eat dinner, provided by the FIAP. Eating, as I have suddenly learned greatly adds to however tired one may be feeling. It’s near eight p.m. as I’m writing this first post and most of the other students have already gone to bed.

Considering I haven’t slept since Friday night, and that tomorrow has an early start, that sounds like a good idea.

More posts and pictures are to follow; I promise.

Leave a comment

Filed under Travel

Leave a comment